11 thoughts on “Video – Mayweather on his opponent selection: “It’s about taking the least punishment for the most reward”

  1. And this is why I don’t think Mayweather is great. He has no heart. If boxings greats had this attitude we would have been robbed of so many great fights.

      • He has solved every style of his era. I think that qualifies as greatness.

        Yes, he dodged Manny, and that’s unforgivable.

        I do find his elusiveness in the ring plainly dull. If you’ve watched a chess computer quietly spit out its moves while a very good human player sweats, fidgets and falls apart opposite it, then you know the one-sidedness comes with a certain airless, dry predictability to it, just like Money May’s fights.

        What rankles me about Mayweather is what rankles me about boxing. He is right that “it’s a business,” so he doesn’t have to fight anyone that poses too much risk or pays too little. More’s the pity. Given his once-in-a-lifetime level of talent, I think he likely would have remained undefeated if he’d had to face Pacquiao three years ago, but we’ll never know. And that’s roughly why I couldn’t care less what he does with the remainder of his old fart’s tour on Showtime.

      • I’m not sure if he necessarily even dodged Pacquiao. Yes, the deal was done for the March 2010 fight and it was only Floyd’s final, and, let’s face it, reasonable request for PED testing that scuppered it.

        That remains the only time the fight was ever seriously negotiated and since then neither the Pacquiao or Mayweather side have made a serious attempt to make it, and never will as long as theyre with different promoters.

        Anyway that’s a subject we could get futilely lost in debating over for hours haha

        I thoroughly enjoy watching Mayweather ply his craft in the ring, just as I do someone like Rigondeaux, but his machiavellian attitude to the business of boxing is often frustrating to the pure sport fan in me.

        However, boxing has always been a business first and a sport a distant second, and it’s always been that way and always will.

      • “And that’s roughly why I couldn’t care less what he does with the remainder of his old fart’s tour on Showtime” — and I think, despite the imminent announcement of Khan, you are being overly critical of Mayweather’s Showtime campaign so far (especially considering he fought Canelo in Sept., when the prevailing assumption was that he wouldnt face him so early in his contract).

        In fact, I think (and I believe the BWAA and many others will agree in their end of year awards) that Mayweather deserves the Fighter of the Year award for 2013.

        And dont lie, you may not buy the PPV, but you will be interested enough to stream his future fights at least

  2. I strongly disagree with fighter of the year. I think if you are going to be the fighter of the year you should have at least have had at least one of the top 10 fights of the year. My fighter of the year would go to Provodnikov. His 2 fights were 2 of the most enjoyable this year. He is also a fighter that shows great heart and tenacity in the ring. Everyone is so into business side of boxing that they forget that it is just entertainment. Who cares how many pay-per-view buys there were or how much the fighters made. The only thing people should care about is if the fight was enjoyable. There is also the purist argument that could be made for Mayweather but I contend that if you are going that way you would be leaning more towards Rigondeaux who had a much better year than Money, upsetting Donaire was awesome. I think they should dub 2013 as year of the upset. Also ask yourself when Mayweather fought Canelo which fight were you more interested in that one or the Garcia fight?

    • Your viewpoint is completely skewed imo.

      Provodnikov lost a fight so is automatically out of contention for the top spot. Entertainment value has absolutely no bearing on if you were the best fighter of the year, and obviously neither does PPV buys etc.

      The purist argument on who was the most dominant fighter of the year is ALL that matters.

      Rigondeaux certainly had an excellent year (as did others like Bradley, Stevenson and Kovalev), but I think Mayweather was the best fighter of the year and boxed masterpieces against two quality opponents in Guerrero and Alvarez, and so deserves this year’s award.

      • Fair enough. I thought his loss to Bradley was debatable.

        If most dominant fighter is the argument it has to be Kovalev or Stevenson. Both guys fought 4 times in one year and knocked every opponent out in 6 rounds or less. That is dominance.

      • Yes, but neither fought the level of opponent that Mayweather did in my opinion. Guerrero was arguably the top 147lb. contender whom Mayweather hadnt already beaten, and Canelo was ranked number 1 at 154.

        Yes, I scored that fight a draw myself, but cant argue with Bradley getting the razor thin verdict.

  3. “… I think, despite the imminent announcement of Khan, you are being overly critical of Mayweather’s Showtime campaign so far (especially considering he fought Canelo in Sept., when the prevailing assumption was that he wouldnt face him so early in his contract). ”

    I do not think Floyd has taken a risk in many years, much less in his Showtime contract. Manny represented one such risk.

    Canelo, for all his gifts, did not seem to me to pose much risk at all. Simply not in the same supernatural league. Not fast enough. Only a prime Pacquaio’s speed would, I think, have troubled Mayweather, coupled with his explosive power. That said, my hunch is he’d have solved it over the course of the fight.

    “And dont lie, you may not buy the PPV, but you will be interested enough to stream his future fights at least”

    Nah. In truth, the highlights are all I can be bothered to watch. And they are never different in any meaningful way, unless it’s Larry Merchant giving him a tongue-lashing afterwards.

    I just don’t enjoy watching his performances any more than I do any mismatch. He’s a god among mortals; that kind of thing, as we know from Homer’s Odyssey, always ends badly for one side. 😉

    • A reference to Greek tragedy on my blog…things just got a little more high-brow, nicely done haha

      I was the same as you as while I view Canelo as a very good fighter, I always thought Mayweather would dominate him, but the fact is the Mexican was widely seen as the top challenger for him, and was favoured by many to be his toughest fight in years. Some prominent journalists even picked Canelo to win.

      I think fighting a top, prime, unbeaten 154lber like Canelo at 152 when Mayweather is no more than an ordinary-sized welter qualifies as a risk, but obviously hardly a massive one on a historical scale. Immense in-ring performance though, and it will surely go down as one of Mayweather’s most noteworthy wins

Leave a Reply

