8 thoughts on “Full Fight Video – Bermane Stiverne vs. Deontay Wilder

  1. So, he surprised you, me and Teddy. 😉

    I loved the fight, but I will admit it wasn’t without trepidation that grew into alarm as Stiverne absorbed ten nights’ worth of punishment. Wilder split the high guard so often and easily as to make it only ornamental. And still the Haitian clung to that title, both more tenaciously and sacrificially than I can recall any recent fighter doing. He was beginning to look dented and cro-magnon in the brows, and I thought occasionally of Abdusalamov, and hoped he’d find help from Wilder or his corner.

    But speaking only of Wilder’s performance, I think he has showed us that he is a B or slightly better fighter with A+ power. (For my money, he was in last night against B competition with an A+ chin.) His future is amusing to consider. In our upside down sport, he could be champ the rest of his career by avoiding the A list and simply knocking out the B list. If, however, he has aspirations, and judging from that flashy car seen in the Showtime promo I would say so haha, the only mega fight for the next two years or so will be against Klitschko. Plus the US hype machine will now go into utter overdrive (the only gear it knows). To get to that level, though, he’s going to have to improve by beating much better fighters than Stiverne.

    I’d give good odds, right now, to the technically-slick Povetkin. Maybe after a valedictorian fight or two Wilder should angle for Tyson Fury as a stepping stone. The more advanced the competition, and the older a 38-year old Wladimir becomes, the better his chances against the man who at present will make a nice Ukrainian borsch of him.

    • Well I was dead wrong about Stiverne being faster than Wilder. I put that down to anyone looking fast when theyre fighting Arreola haha

      Very entertaining for 7 rounds before it turned into a withering one-sided pot-shot affair. Wilder showed he’s more than just power and answered some chin/stamina questions. However, he isnt very polished and will have to be matched carefully to keep his title, which I’m sure he will be.

      You’re not kidding about the US hype machine. Wilder will be the jewel in Haymon’s NBC crown, and we’re more likely to see him fight the likes of Tarver & Arreola, than Fury or Povetkin (who could soon be his mandatory actually) anytime soon.

      Given the amount of money he’ll earn over the next couple of years (Guerrero is getting a whopping $2.5m purse for Thurman fight on NBC), I have doubts that he’ll ever fight Klitschko, who might be retired by the time Wilder’s remotely in with a chance of winning and let off the Haymon leash

  2. That is a very large purse for Thurman-Guerrero under the circumstances. If Hayman and NBC can make this work, I’ll be impressed. Actually, I have to rack my brain to recall the last time I watched US network TV, that creatively-bankrupt dinosaur and home to a million detergent ads. Probably news broadcasts in those dark days of 9/11; probably also the last time I saw a detergent ad, come to think of it.

    Poor Tarver if he steps in the ring with Wilder who’s no fading RJJ. Ditto for Arreola. But I imagine that is your point: grist for the KO mill, which is probably what’ll make Haymon’s show succeed. With that competition, Wilder could really fight four times a year.

    Recent Criterion viewing: Boudu Saved From Drowning and Bande á part. Enjoyed them both, though I loved the Renoir, especially Michel Simon’s antics. (Planning to see the Mazursky remake/transposition to Beverly Hills.) I’m never entirely sold on clever-clever Godard. But it’s hard not to join in the camera’s love affair with Anna Karina, whose eyes could hypnotize the dead, or to be amused by the director’s endlessly fussy gags.

    • Well the first two fight cards theyve announced for NBC are quality, so lets hope the standard keeps up. Showtime and Stephen Espinoza really got screwed on this one, but serves the nepotistic fool right for constantly overpaying Haymon’s A-sides for mismatches.

      Wilder got a cool million for Stiverne, so god knows what he’ll be earning on NBC. Incidentally, since it’s a time buy on the network, the NBC purses are coming out of the pocket, not of NBC, but of Haymon’s investors, who are some of the people behind Formula 1 motor racing.

      I must confess I’ve only seen a combined 7 or 8 films from Renoir and Godard. I suspect I’ll never fall in love with “clever-clever Godard” myself, but his early work (Breathless & Bande a part) is a breath of fresh air.

      Many critics have named Goodbye to Language as their top film of 2014 also, so he’s still got it in his 80s.

      Just got the BFI’s 10 disc Herzog set today, so a lot of watching ahead.

      Saw Reygadas’ debut feature Japon the other day. Absolutely stunning and, at the risk of hyperbole, inspirational.

      Bela Tarr runs a film school in Sarajevo now, and the list of guest lecturers is incredible – http://filmfactory.ba/faculty.html & http://filmfactory.ba/calendar.html

  3. Unable to stand what Godard has made since the 80s; but I agree the early work is fresh and exciting. Going to watch Vivre Sa Vie soon.

    Will check into Japon, glad to hear about it! Let me know how you are finding the Herzog collection. Can only think of three or four features and about half a dozen docs I’ve seen, yet all are memorable to the point of total recall. I’ve watched Aguirre: The Wrath of God and My Best Fiend multiple times.

    I’m happy Tarr’s school is up and running. A most impressive list of guest lecturers, too. I spotted good old Jonathan Rosenbaum on it — he’s certainly among the best US film essayists. How brilliant would it be to study with Tarr and Jarmusch?

Leave a Reply

