9 thoughts on “Full Fight Video – Keith Thurman vs. Robert Guerrero

  1. Exciting, athletic, daring, poetic, vicious, beautiful boxing! Keen to see whatever Thurman does next.

    Tough break for the Ghost, a worthy, courageous higher-food chain journeyman whose skill set brings him in sniffing distance of the better ethers. Talent is the cruelest accident in the world…

    I watched via web browser on the night of the fight, bemused by NBC polishing off 70s-era sportscaster relics. Laila Ali kept things honest, though, and would have won my heart had she thumped Broner for his ill-judged pass at her. The most excitement in Broner-Molina, actually, was referee Steve Smoger dropping by the broadcast table to diss fellow ref Robert Byrd.

    • Thurman was impressive and I hope we see him matched consistently well now. I want to see him in against Khan or Maidana next, not a mismatch with the faded likes of the Berto-Lopez winner.

      Guerrero is good, but most definitely far short of great. He’s done well with his talent, winning belts at two lower weights & getting big paydays at welter, including the coveted Mayweather shot. More paydays will surely come as a big name B-side, but his days at the elite of the sport are over in my opinion. “A worthy, courageous higher-food chain journeyman” is a perfect summation of where he stands in the welterweight ranks going forward.

      I watched Boxnation’s broadcast, so havent seen the PBC/NBC crew in action yet. I’ve heard mixed reviews. It always irks me when you have people like Michaels, Albert, and even Sugar Ray, commentating on fights when they clearly don’t follow the sport on a day-to-day basis anymore. Many of the other PBC innovations ranged from the stupid (no ring card girls), to the bemusing (no ring announcer in the actual ring; the weird, entourange-less ring walks to Hans Zimmer music), to the laudable (a philosophy of ignoring the proliferation of sanctioning body belts whenever possible).

      Broner-Molina was nothing short of dire. It was always likely to be a mismatch but few thought it would be so boring.

  2. I find unforgivable that Broner didn’t go for the kill. Molina, not half the fighter since his grueling Matthysse war, was there for the taking. I felt bad he was in the ring, in fact, as I gather so did his trainer.

    You missed nothing on Box Nation. Michaels, Albert and Leonard were burdensome. It felt, watching them, as if the past two decades hadn’t occurred. We no longer need “personalities” in the form of all-purpose sportscasters to act as boxing’s chaperones while a boxer is along to lend, ahem, color. Leonard knows what he’s talking about, of course, but he, too, seems to be living in his own glorious self-absorbed past. The HBO crew has nothing to fear.

    Well, I’ll take boxing from Haymon/NBC all the same. But maybe I’ll wait to see it on YouTube via Box Nation. 😉

    Btw, did you hear Bernard is finally going to do some broadcasting? Exciting news.

    • Broner admitted after the fight that he fights more carefully post-Maidana, but it was a poor spectacle for the first PBC fight. Al can’t have been too pleased.

      That’s PBC for you: the broadcast team were chosen to provide recognizable voices for the mainstream US sports fan. The hardcore boxing fan is an afterthought for Haymon. After all, it goes without saying that we’ll be tuning in anyway…or streaming on Youtube.

      Yes, I’ve heard Bernard’s commentary on international feeds in the past and he impressed me. Looking forward to Kovalev-Pascal.

  3. That Broner post-fight excuse — I lost the last time I fought for the fans, etc. – rubbed me the wrong way. As I recall, he lost not because he fought a fan-friendly fight. He was drubbed by the swarmer. Credit to him for ending that fight upright, not for trying to please us.

    You’re so right. Hamon and NBC are targeting mainstream tastes. The class end of the business is cable’s preserve, so I wish them luck. Non-cable TV here is a lunatic asylum, the sports broadcasting included, so I suppose it’s something they didn’t have Kim Kardashian up there the other night twerking to the national anthem with a kazoo stuck between her cheeks.

    Keeping up with Saul? I love it, especially as it’s heading not only into the grotesque but genuine despair. Tragicomedy is my favorite mode, practiced so little. Are you a fan of Ettore Scola’s black humor masterpiece, Down and Dirty (1976)? This is the territory staked out, expertly, by Vince Gilligan. I can hardly believe it’s on our television! This small-screen renaissance has been an unlooked-for joy.

    • The current Golden age of TV has indeed been a joy. I’m up to date on Saul and still enjoying it immensely.

      Surprisingly, I’d never heard of Scola, despite my interest in Italian cinema (although I’m far from an expert in that regard). He’s now added to my list to check out

  4. Best director at Cannes, 1976, for that one. Tracking it down was a devil. He’s not exactly a household name here, though his La Nuit de Varennes got some attention in the early 1980s. Even a serious cinema friend who’d worked for Samuel Z. Arkoff back in the day hadn’t heard of him. (He became a convert on one viewing.)

    How about Francesco Rosi? I loved his Uomini control (1970) and have his Salvatore Giuliano sitting in my Criterion queue.

    Over the weekend we saw the splendid La Vie de Bohème (1992) by Aki Kaurismäki. I don’t know how I avoided seeing this for twenty years! Afterwards both my wife and I could not say where, exactly, we’d seen two of the leads who seemed as familiar as old friends, until some digging turned up the answer: driver and passenger in the Helsinki segment of Jarmusch’s Night on Earth. I adore Jarmusch, but for my money he’s never made a film as great as Bohème. If you have seen more by Kaurismäki I’m all ears for recommendations.

    • I’m of course familiar with both Kaurismaki & Rosi, but unfortunately have only seen one film between them – Rosi’s Lucky Luciano, which I didnt like.

      The Mattei Affair and Giuliano have long been on my to-see list though.

    • Rewatched Wong Kar Wai’s In the Mood for Love the other day & Reygadas’ Silent Light. Both remarkable visual, moody tour-de-forces.

      Also saw Sokurov’s The Sun, an eccentric portrait of Emperor Hirohito. Not without its flaws, but clearly the work of a master in his mature phase.

Leave a Reply

