Pound4poundireland’s September 22nd POUND FOR POUND top 10

1. Roman Gonzalez

2. Manny Pacquiao

3. Wladimir Klitschko

4. Sergey Kovalev

5. Guillermo Rigondeaux

6. Timothy Bradley

7. Gennady Golovkin

8. Miguel Cotto

9. Terence Crawford

10. Juan Francisco Estrada

  • An era ends as Mayweather Jr. retires and so vacates his claims to the pound for pound, welterweight and jr. middleweight thrones.
  • OK, he’s retired twice before and there aren’t many who believe he won’t be back for at least one more, but the fact remains that he has officially retired, no special treatment can be afforded and boxing waits for no man.
  • ‘Chocolatito’ Gonzalez becomes, I believe, the first ever flyweight to gain widespread recognition as boxing’s best fighter.
  • Estrada, another flyweight and former Gonzalez foe, enters at 10th

21 thoughts on “Pound4poundireland’s September 22nd POUND FOR POUND top 10

  1. A little more than a year after attending boxing seriously again, I’m at last conversant with almost all the names on the list (Estrada is new to me). As lists go I prefer yours to the Ring’s in that you’ve included Bradley rather than Brook, who for all his gifts hasn’t proved as much.

    Of the valedictorian class, Tim, Manny, Waddy and Cotto have both impressive bodies of work and longevity questions that are going to be increasingly persistent, some even very soon. It’s not too daring to see 2016 as a year apt to change the sport’s elite ranks profoundly (promoters willing), with hot talent on the way up happily enough. Action in the lawsuits against Haydon, and his trust fund’s exhaustion, could be influential in this late next year.

    Btw, FT last week ran a fairly interesting piece on the Eubankses that included an insightful admission from junior that he takes his place in a well-established line of sons of greats that isn’t typically predictive of success: “I was born to fail, but I am built to succeed.” I see he is haunting Mayweather gym which can only help.

    Sorry to see Paulie M. off to Italy for an RJJ-style cash-in against a tomato can. Paulie’s hitting the midlife crisis years; Roy’s arranged for cryogenic freezing so his can go on forever.

    • I agree that 2016 could see further shifts at the top of the sport, with the exception of wlad, who I think will reign for as long as he wants to.

      Laughable for ring to rate brook pound for pound. Bradley’s only loss is to pacquiao, for example, and brook`s only significant win is porter.

      Big Eubank Jr news yesterday as he signs with Hearn. He’s spent a lot of time at mayweather gym and boxed as an amateur in the States too, winning a golden gloves tournament.

      I don’t see malignaggi`s fight in the same way as Roy`s recent bum of the month club. Paulie has had a long held dream of fighting in italy, and this is a chance to do that before he retires. If it amounts to something more, then I will criticize.

      Are you serious about the Roy cryo freezing arrangement?! At the risk of facetiousness, if he keeps boxing, there may not remain any serviceable brain tissue to preserve.

      Incidentally, Roy will be in the corner of Fedor (brother of Dmitry) Chudinov tonight in his fascinating mismatch with Frank Buglioni.

      56yo egomaniac Steve Collins will be in the buglioni corner, affording him fresh opportunities to try to drum up interest in what would be the most ludicrous of old man fights between him and Roy, whom Steve laughably asserts ducked him in their primes.

    • Also, I read an amusing quote from Roy about his expedited citizenship in which he states that one of his aims is to “repair US/Russian relations” haha.

      One wonders how glorified exhibition bouts and lip synced rap performances fit into that ultimate goal.

  2. Just joking about the deep freeze, but this Roy peace initiative can be no joke. Word!

    As a budding diplothlete, Roy might have in mind former Chicago Bulls forward Dennis Rodman, he of the green hair and brief marriage to sultry parallelogram Carmen Electra, who stands by for dispatch to North Korea or any other hotspot where he is needed.

    Rodman singing birthday wishes to Kim Jong Un:

    LOL @ “bum of the month club.” No, I can’t fault Paulie for fulfilling his dreams. And he’s not going to hurt the poor journeyman, so what the hell.

    Watched Chudinov’s impressive handling of Buglioni. Superhuman last stand by the English fighter but Chudinov was a machine. Wonder if he could drop down to mw to fight his brother’s vanquisher Eubank Jr.

    Interesting news about the Hearn signing, thanks for that info. Two fights to come this year I see. How do you think they’ll be moving him?

    Disappointed another big fight (Klit-Fury) is postponed due to injury. And speaking of non-events: did you see Wilder needed 11 rounds to put away the Frenchman? The PBC property took a lot of lumps, though the broadcast team shamelessly went on praising him.

  3. Lol @ “diplothlete” & I genuinely wouldn’t have been surprised if the cryo freezing story was true!

    The opposite may happen: there’s talk of Eubank Jr. moving to 168 sooner rather than later and that fight would be a natural. Also, DeGale vs. Eubank (longtime social media rivals stemming from an old sparring session) could be huge in a couple of years. I think he will be moved slowly and carefully by Hearn, who sees the value in him to be a potential household name & Wembley filler.

    I too was impressed by this more talented Chudinov & the bravery of Buglioni was mighty impressive. The sadism of the Collins brothers in Buglioni’s corner for not pulling him out sometime in the final few rounds was less so (I’ll be writing about this further in a belated bumper edition of ‘Judging the Judges’ to come next week). With the exception of the after the bell knockdown, it was as sustained a twelve-round beatdown as you’ll ever see.

    Indeed, it is very disappointing that Wlad-Fury has been postponed, particularly after the hilarity of the Batman-themed presser.

    I didn’t see the Wilder fight because it wasn’t televised over here (almost every major American fight is, so this is telling), but I hear Wilder looked bad and had his left eye almost closed. Supposedly the attendance in the arena was unimpressive also.

    I hear poor old Marv Albert called Wladimir “Klitschkoff”.

    Note to Al Haymon and NBC: if your play by play guy doesn’t know the name of the heavyweight champion, then he probably shouldn’t be broadcasting boxing.

    Let’s hope Povetkin is next.

    • On an unrelated note, I highly recommend Pedro Costa’s Horse Money (rated by many critics among the best films of 2014) & Andrew Haigh’s 45 Years.

      More friends are also getting on to me about Mr. Robot.

  4. Thanks for the Costa and Haigh tips. Very striking trailer for Horse Money and I’ll be seeing it.

    Caught Ex Machina. Somewhat more interesting as a barometer of our soulless uber-geek present than for what it says about future AI or the way it goes about its slight mind games, but smart and artful enough and hard to go wrong with Oscar Isaac.

    Agree re negligence in Buglioni’s corner. He was sacrificed. Look forward to reading your criticism of this.

    PBC commentators rocked the house! As it became clear there’d be no early stoppage, we were told repeatedly what a splendid “learning experience” being whacked by an unknown mug is for the champ. The puffy-eyed Wilder did finally beat up his overmatched prey by which time the commentators had sung so long and hard for their supper you could hear their hoarse relief over being allowed to flee to the bar and resume polishing their own legends. Albert in particular spent the night braying “DeonTAY…(pause)…WIIIILDerrrrrr!” as an illustration that he’s still got that funky Marv flow on the mic. Besides him butchering Klit’s name, they all had individual pronunciations for the surname of the Frenchman, each taking turns one-upping the other with their worldy grasp of phonetics, so that we heard about Dahulahoop and Doopyass and so on. In victory, the PBC legend ran backwards around the ring heroically flailing his elbows as if he’d just dropped Foreman in Zaire. It was heaven in Alabama.

    Very interesting about the move to 168. I hope Jr has improved and/or throws harder at super mw, but much as I like his attacking style, I await proof. The Chudinov of this weekend would give problems to the slow-adapting Eubank Jr of last winter. Too accurate, too economical, too defensive, too able to cut off the ring: Billy Joe all over again. I thought the brave Buglioni moved very well and fought intelligently. Not his fault Chudinov always knew where to be and when to throw. I wonder how much of that is down to Roy…any idea?

    You have a treat waiting in Mr Robot. Keen for this fall’s return of HBO’s ambitious The Leftovers myself.

    • Heard decent things about ex machina. It stars miss vikander, the current beau of my neighbor, Michael fassbender. See, I sometimes provide some celeb goss too!

      I am awaiting the return of Showtime’s the affair. Must Google the leftovers.

      I can’t credit chudinov`s ring generalship to Roy as they have actually only trained together for four weeks

      I personally was completely unimpressed by buglioni from a skills standpoint as he was woefully outclassed (not entirely his fault of course given the massive step up in class he suddenly undertook)

      However, his heart was top notch and is a rare intangible to possess, and his chin held up surprisingly well too

  5. Haha, Fassbender it like Beckham!

    She will have broken lots of geek hearts with this movie, for sure. Touch of Audrey — Hepburn/Tatou.

    Btw, what have you seen by Bellocchio? Loved his Fists in the Pocket. Felt like one of those great Ealing black comedies with Alec Guinness from twenty years earlier, fed through the sensibility of the new wave.

    • I’ve been meaning to see Fists for years but haven’t gotten around to it yet.

      I really enjoyed Good Morning, Night, which makes stunning use of several Pink Floyd songs.

      I was channel surfing last night and came across episode seven of The Leftovers. I enjoyed what I saw (i like Justin Theroux, cousin of my favourite documentarist, Louis), and it had hints of the best of the Stephen King novels I read in my teens

  6. Read the first line of the Wikipedia plot synopsis of Good Morning, Night, and knew it was one for me.

    Didn’t know about the Theroux family connection. I like both men’s work.

    Speaking of docs, we caught the Maysles Brothers’ Salesman. What a season in hell: selling illustrated Bibles door to door in the 1960s, the poor bastards driven by a boss who would have done well running prison chain gangs.

    Word on the Leftovers adaptation is that it is more plot-heavy than the novel, HBO requiring rewrites to broaden appeal, but if so it hasn’t bothered me. The series is a bit of a sleeper, pitched somewhere between the King influence well-spotted by you, the subcultural nastiness of Fight Club and the elegiac stuff of David Milch. I honestly don’t know how it has managed to attract an audience and didn’t think it’d be back.

    Zeitgeist, I guess. There is a persistent air of fatalism, of social disintegration into mad cults and blood oaths, that gives it its scabby appeal. Feels of the moment over here, Jeremy. To do allegory of this sort while not being outpaced by the horror in our headlines — tall order.

    • Unfortunately, I’ve yet to see anything by the Maysles bros. Must correct this soon, as well as also educating myself on Errol Morris.

      Good Morning, Night is miles better, in my view, than the acclaimed, but dense & overly stylized to the point of stupefaction, Il Divo, both of which cover overlapping dark days in Italian politics & history.

      I absolutely love Louis Theroux and have seen everything he’s done, much of it multiple times. Eagerly awaiting his upcoming Scientology doc, which will be his first theatrically released film.

      America is a strange place, full of contradictions…the latest headlines absolutely tragic of course, but I don’t expect the bloodletting to stop.

  7. Cheers for the Bellocchio tips.

    Errol Morris is interesting. The Thin Blue Line and Mr. Death both give alarming warnings about the US justice system that time has only amplified. The former especially, as in his film on Stephen Hawking, showcases his attractive abstract visual style (ideally wed to its Philip Glass soundtrack). While he has attempted broader statements on politics and culture, I don’t think he can hold a candle to Adam Curtis. The miniature seems to work best for him.

    America is as you say, a geography of contradictions. Whatever The Leftover’s other merits as drama (3/5 stars in my book), it has the virtue of getting that we are at a deeply haunted place on the continuum of resolving our contradictions. An idea that will not be unfamiliar to a true son of Ireland…

      • Cheers — I’d read an exchange between Curtis and Morris somewhere else, but hadn’t seen this.

        Two quick items. 1) Read Jeff Vandermeer’s artful short novel Annihilation this weekend; learned today it’s Alex Garner’s next film 2) the following is from a brief review of Werner Herzog: A Guide For The Perplexed.

        ‘My favorite moment in the book sees Herzog at a film festival, on a panel discussion with several documentary filmmakers. The other directors are devotees of cinéma vérité; Herzog is a fabulist, famous for inserting made-up facts and scenes into his documentaries at every turn. Herzog: “I say here to adherents of cinéma-vérité: I am no bookkeeper; my mandate is poetry.”

        ‘I want to be involved. I want to shape and sculpt, to stage things, to intrude and invent. I want to be a film director. I was the only person at the festival arguing against these morons. . . . I couldn’t take it any longer. I grabbed a microphone and said, “I’m no fly on the wall. I am the hornet that stings.” There was an immediate uproar, so not having anything more to say, I shouted out, “Happy New Year, losers.” And that was that.’

        http://www.newyorker.com/culture/cultural-comment/making-new-years-resolutions-werner-herzog

      • Haha, classic Herzog, the man is capable of anything – http://www.theguardian.com/film/2006/feb/03/news2

        Looking forward to finally seeing Fitzcarraldo (and Burden of Dreams) soon.

        I’m currently reading King Lear and some Yeats poetry…yes, this sounds pretentious!

        Watched my first Curtis works today: The Attic, plus a handful of his 10 min or less video essays. I’m quite impressed.

        Also, caught Glauber Rocha’s Antonio das Mortes, a key influence on Scorsese.

        I have mixed feelings about it, however, and found it to be far inferior to his earlier, Black God White Devil.

  8. Wow, I don’t know The Attic. Thought I was conversant with all his work. I was thinking today of his Bitter Lake as a case where film can translate history and ideas into a kind of dream — a waking nightmare. We are more used to this effect in drama than in the film essay but it may also be that uncovering reality that is nonlinear, irrational and soaked in lies is more fruitfully done this way too.

    Yes, the horror of Yeats and Shakes: hang your head, haha. Which Yeats? I’m never far from a bit of poetry and he is fantastic. The Second Coming, The Hosting of the Sidhe, Easter 1916, When You Are Old (a translation if I recall correctly, and one I used to recite when courting my wife lol!) are favorites. Seamus Heaney I’ve been poking around more in recent years; ferociously good.

    Found a subtitled Black God White Devil on YouTube. Bookmarked. Commenter there says, “Eat your heart out, Jodorowsky!”

    • The Attic is part of his The Living Dead trilogy. It’s ostensibly about Margaret Thatcher and her Churchillian appropriation of the romantic imperial myth of old Britain and the consequences of this in the modern day.

      Haha I must admit I’ve used Yeats’ poetry once or twice when trying to impress a girl! I’ve been an admirer of his for many years, but this is my attempt to absorb his oeuvre more completely.

      I have a collection of most of his major works & I’m going through that. I’m on his 1893 collection The Rose at the moment, one of the highlights of which is The Lake Isle of Inisfree.

      Heaney is somebody I plan to educate myself further on in years to come.

      That is the exact Black God link I viewed. Brilliant film, and, as I said to you before, Rocha’s style is like a wonderful cocktail of Jodorowsky, Herzog & Pasolini.

      Just watched Fitzcarraldo: stunning & it might have even topped Aguirre for me.

  9. Nice to be reminded of the stunning Lake Isle of Inisfree. Probably the first Yeats I learned.

    Planning to check out that Curtis; meanwhile, I glanced at Bitter Lake and was promptly sucked in to watching the whole thing again, lol.

    Must see Fitzcarraldo — only been on my list for thirty years. I don’t know why in hell I haven’t seen it. Topping Aguirre: The Wrath of God no small feat!

    Did you catch Fonfara-Cleverly? Enough action to fill ten fight cards and it seems to have broken the Compubox equipment. The slo-mo replays of the Pole’s head receiving uppercuts reminded me of earthquake footage. Hell for leather, and defense a dirty word.

    • Terrific fight, and arguably not as good as the Kono-Kameda battle in the co-feature. A rare PBC card for which we can all unironically thank Al Haymon.

      Cleverly looks a different fighter back at 175 from the guy who tentatively waded through molasses to a lopsided bore against Tony Bellew at cruiserweight last year, but I had Fonfara the winner by a wider margin than the official cards. Cleverly showed bravery to fight through that broken nose.

Leave a Reply

