12 thoughts on “Video – Tyson Fury vs. Wladimir Klitschko II: Boxnation Face to Face

  1. Thanks, Jeremy, I’ve been looking forward to this.

    Can’t tell how the fight will go (nothing would surprise me — partly why I’m again very interested at a time when the sport poses fewer and fewer questions). Yet he has Wlad tamed in any tabletop personality poker. His blather here is a subversive deconstruction of everything from stardom and being “champion” to fear and vulnerability but especially of the rationalist, classical worldview of his opponent; watching the galled Wlad clench when Fury airily mentions possibly retiring before the fight is priceless.

    “…still as sick as ever, still as depressed as life can be, and still don’t care if I die in any second of the moment.” The Mozzer of boxing!

    • Haha, are you a Smiths fan too?

      Agreed, Fury seems to genuinely get under Wlad’s skin, both in and out of the ring, subverting all his much-cherished ‘failure is not an option’ tenets in everything from his blase attitude to his pot-bellied appearance.

      I too am interested in this fight to a greater degree than any likely stinker in recent memory. No outcome would surprise me either, although a messy, close decision is the most likely eventuality.

      Ticket sales have been reportedly poor also. One wonders what Wlad will think stepping into a half-empty arena of modest capacity in the first place, as opposed to the soccer stadium this rematch could surely have packed out almost anywhere in mainland Europe. Headscratching that it’s taking place in the UK.

      Talk of Haye-Bellew sometime next year is intensifying. Talk about a lucrative freakshow, especially if it serves as an eliminator for Joshua.

  2. Fascinating about ticket sales — what is the cause?

    I can see how the lackluster first match might deter some, yet presumably more would want to back a British champion. And a champ, at that, who doesn’t want for colorful controversy (though arguably Fury is more interesting outside than inside the ring). Should he keep the belts, what is likely to be his place in the UK scene? Second fiddle to a still-nascent Joshua and a bottom-feeding Haye? Eying bigger things over here vs. Wilder?

    Yes, I know the Smiths catalog by heart. My wife has heard me singing it (more forgivably in the shower) for going on twenty years. The music has been with me since college. Much later, while teaching in Greece, I learned my broken Greek using a paperback volume of Morrissey’s translated lyrics. 🙂

    • The pricing is too high, and there is little buzz around the fight, owing largely to the minuscule reach of Boxnation as opposed to the Sky Sports juggernaut, which would surely have hyped the fight into a major PPV, as they did the first meeting in Germany.

      He’ll still be second fiddle to those guys, sadly. Era-defining wins (if he can repeat the trick) over Klitschko don’t compare to Haye’s ‘I’m a Celebrity, Get Me Out of Here’ alumnus status & the ludicrously overblown AJ hype.

      The endgame is the AJ unification, and that will be his chance to establish himself in the public’s minds as the kingpin, whether they like it or not.

      Lomachenko looked spectacular last night, finally justifying some of that pound for pound hype. Not that it means as much in today’s era of fractured titles, but he set a record for least fights to win belts at two weights.

      You have lived a fascinating life, my friend, as revealed in each nugget you choose to share from time to time. No wonder your taste in art is so eclectic! I just got into the Smiths in the past year or so, but love much of their work now. Bigmouth Strikes Again is my personal favourite.

  3. Haha, cheers. It’s been a strange enough one, anyway. Agree re “Bigmouth,” a terrific song. There is no surpassing their work on The Queen Is Dead album for my money. I suppose what originally captured me was the imagery in lyrics to “Stretch Out and Wait,” “Rusholme Ruffians,” and “The Headmaster Ritual,” where the mordant humor and longing recall the old kitchen sink cinema that seems to have been booked to play permanently in Morrissey’s head. It was running in mine, too, and still is.

    Good thing you mentioned Lomachenko — prompted me not to miss the fight and what a performance! Signs of greatness? Not sure if you will have seen the HBO broadcast which had an affectionate salute to HoF-bound Harold Lederman. I’ve never seen a Roy Jones Jr. like that one, the mask lowered and heart open.

    • Not as familiar with them album-to-album as you are — I’ll check those album tracks out. Really like The Headmaster Ritual. The acid humour of Morrissey’s lyrics counterpointed with Marr’s jangling riffs combine to remarkable effect. There Is a Light That Never Goes Out (“To die by your side, such a heavenly way to die”) & William, It Was Really Nothing are other favourites of mine.

      Belatedly finished Vernon God Little. A disappointment, for me. It had its moments, but the satire & characters didn’t resonate.

      Absolutely, for the first time (excellent display against Russell Jr. notwithstanding), he justified the hype of being one of the pound for pound best. One or two more impressive wins like this and he’ll be there. Now I’d like to see him erase the blotch of Salido on his record in a rematch.

      I saw the international feed via Boxnation, but I’m very pleased to see Lederman, and Col. Bob Sheridan, inducted in this year’s class. Well deserved.

  4. Too bad about VGL. I knew there was a reason I’ve had it on my list forever.

    A friend once remarked to me that his mother, who consistently read a novel a week for half a century and showed no sign of letting up, had, at age 80, declared she was now sufficiently well read she could allow herself not to finish every word of exactly one novel per month, though skipping any more than that made her feel guilty.

    I’m in Houellebecq’s Submission now. Promising, though I felt that about his other novels, too, which I didn’t finish. Guiltlessly, haha. He might be the Goddard of letters — acidly clever, intellectually merciless, though dry in tone and brittle of heart.

    I’m constantly on the lookout for art that grabs me by the soul. Finally had a proper viewing of 8 1/2 and was well grabbed; the dream-memory sequences with the Rota score playing might be some of the most beautiful I can recall seeing. Do you care for it?

    • Don’t let my mixed appraisal put you off it. I’m no literary expert, and it was acclaimed by critics.

      A remarkable lady, then…reminds me of this guy: http://www.newyorker.com/books/page-turner/one-mans-impossible-quest-to-read-and-review-the-world?mbid=social_twitter

      I don’t know much about Houellebecq, other than his time spent in Ireland and the xenophobia controversy that surrounds his work back in France. You’d recommend him, then?

      Yes, I do admire it, although I’ve only seen it once and it was too long ago. I’m sorry to say that I haven’t seen much of Fellini’s work. Hating his Casanova put me off, but as a professed cinephile, I must see La Strada and La Dolce Vita at some point.

      • Enjoyed that New Yorker piece! I’ll be spending more time at the Complete Review. Today I merely peeked into his take on Houellebecq: mostly B+ and one B- and A-. B+ for Submission, it seems.

        Won’t argue, but it does come down to a different matter for me than quality alone. Thus far in the book, 50 or so pages (I read much more casually than Orthofer does!) I feel as I did in earlier attempts with The Elementary Particles and Platform: he’s a good observer of culture with a sharp set of fangs as a satirist, but provides little friction in the way of story. Too meta for me, but YMMV.

        What I seek more these days — rarely find — is the experience I’ve had in recent years in Cormac McCarthy. A lyrical terror — existential in dimension — a moral nightmare from which I can’t turn away. Well, it needs to make me damn near inconsolable or it won’t do, haha.

        Great fan of La Dolce Vita and will see it again first uninterrupted four hours I get. 🙂 Enjoyed Amarcord, too, but otherwise know little Fellini. Superb contemporary review for 8 1/2 from the critic who was still reviewing until his death at age 93 and whose writing once opened many world cinema doors for me, Stanley Kauffman:

        https://newrepublic.com/article/63512/jolly-good-fellini

      • Apologies for the late replies to these comments. I was visiting Paris, and saw promo pictures of Houellebecq all over the place. Also managed to visit the wonderful Cinematheque Francais (although not for a screening unfortunately) & the graves of Oscar Wilde and Jim Morrison (Tarkovsky next time).

        I recommend Anomalisa, the latest from Charlie Kaufman. Are you a fan of his work?

        Thurman-Porter was one of the best fights of the year. Both men~s stock rises and it was great to see a fight of such quality showcased on free TV in the States, rather than the usual PBC dreck that~s clogged up primetime.

        It shows the power of the simple approach to matchmaking – put the best in with the best and you~re likely to get the best results.

        Joshua bowled over, a brave, Breazeale as expected. Hopefully Joseph Parker is up next. Groves impressed in dominating Martin Murray in one of the strongest all-British fights we~re likely to see this year.

        Eubank Jr.-Doran was the expected pointless mismatch. The GGG talk is at a fever pitch now, but I still have no confidence that the Eubanks will back up their bravado by putting pen to paper on that kamikaze mission.

        The most disturbing recent news is that of Fury~s reported steroid failure. This, rather than the stated ankle injury, is the likely reason for the postponement of the Klitschko rematch.

        Between the test failures of Lucas Browne and Povetkin, and the hugely suspicious physiques of Joshua and 40yo Klitschko, the heavyweight division is starting to give the impression of boxing~s version of the 100m sprint.

        Your take on all of this?

  5. Great to hear you were in Paris. I’ve been out a couple of times, and once to Père Lachaise. Watched Beineix’s lovely, droll Diva again the other night — one of my favorite montages in all of cinema is the walk in the park to Vladimir Cosma’s music — and it brought back such memories of the city. (It also led me to order, on a whim, a few of Delacorta’s books.) Where else did you go? Tell me you went to Silencio!

    Yes, I like a bit of Kaufman. I’ve only seen Being John Malkovich, but my wife liked Adaptation (she’s been after me to read more Susan Orlean, who loosely provided the source material). Thanks for tip on Anomalisa which I hadn’t heard of.

    Loved every second of Thurman-Porter, and agree with you regarding matchmaking. Impressed anew by Joshua. Imagine he stops Parker who looked barely up to the challenge of Takam. Pity about Fury, if true, the specter of a revivified Klitschcorpse in the wake of a Fury drug suspension ghastly for boxing. I’d pick him to consume Joshua; not enough head movement in the Brit, and those Ukrainian jowls always drawing nearer…

    Delighted by AMC’s adaptation of Preacher, elegant throwaway pop fun. I’ve relished the Irish satirist Garth Ennis for years and all hopes for the adaptation have been met in the premiere.

    • I went to all the typical tourist places: Louvre, Triomphe, Eiffel Tower…watched the crucial European Championship Ireland vs. France soccer match in an Irish pub ironically filled with French fans, a great atmosphere. The city in general was hectic because France are hosting the tournament.

      One interesting place I visited was the Stade Georges Carpentier, which happened to be near my accomodation. It featured an interesting wood & steel sculpture of the boxer, which looked more like the Terminator than a pugilist.

      I didn’t know about Silencio…if only. It’s definitely on my list for next time. I also visited Lisbon, Nuremburg, Cologne and Halle (to indulge my Roger Federer obsession).

      I can highly recommend Adaptation. Cage at his best too.

      A friend of mine recommends Preacher too. It features an Irish vampire? I’ll keep my ear to the ground. The trailers for HBO’s upcoming Westworld continue to intrigue.

      Joshua will destroy Parker, but it’s still a worthy matchup. Extremely distressing, if true, about Fury, and I’ll be addressing this further in an upcoming Judging the Judges. It doesn’t seem to be derailing the rematch immediately anyway, as it’s been rescheduled for October 29th.

Leave a Reply

