8 thoughts on “Video – Teddy Atlas speaks to Sports Illustrated on corruption in Olympic boxing

  1. Appalling Olympics robberies from Conlan to Russell. Incidentally, to underscore Teddy’s point about media complicity in hiding these outrages, the Russell fight has already been sent down the memory hole — totally cleansed from YouTube.

    • The IOC/AIBA wiping YouTube of the evidence of their transgressions. I’ve been trying to find footage of several fights I missed, and have so far been unable to locate them.

      Other robberies worth mentioning are Levit in the heavyweight final, and Joyce in the super heavyweights (where he outlanded his opponent, Yoka, by more than 2:1, according to CompuBox).

      Look out for Joe Joyce as a likely Joshua foe in a huge stadium fight 3 or so years from now.

      • Btw, saw the very likable “In A Lonely Place” after reading your comment. There’s a fair bit more going on than in the average noir, and I really cared for the way it balanced its bittersweet comic touches (bits with agent & has-been actor) against the macabre. The performance from Bogart is one of the best I’ve seen him give, the usual mannerisms boiled off into something more raw, putting me in mind of his miseries in Treasure of the Sierra Madre. Gloria Grahame is immensely watchable — a Veronica Lake with irony. Must see more of her and more films by Ray (iMDB account of their marriage sounds like a proper hell, lol). Have you seen his “Bigger Than Life” with James Mason?

      • Glad you enjoyed, and funny you should mention Treasure of the Sierra Madre, as I saw it for the first time a week or so ago.

        Classic Hollywood at its best, and John Huston continues to rise in my esteem. Bogart’s performance is admirable for its lack of ego: as the star, he is fully willing to play, as he himself said, a “bastard”. The same holds true for In a Lonely Place.

        Not a fan of Bigger Than Life, and can’t understand why the French critics lionize it as one of the best American movies. I enjoyed Johnny Guitar & Rebel Without a Cause and plan to school myself more fully on Ray’s oeuvre some day.

        Rewatched Leon Morin Priest the other night, a likable Jean Pierre Melville oddity, featuring a charismatic Belmondo performance.

        Also, I was unfortunate enough to see the dire Gervais rethread of David Brent in Life on the Road, the worst film I’ve seen in the cinema in years. Best to pretend it’s non-canon and move on.

        Most of my viewing lately has been of HBO’s Deadwood. I’m two seasons in and must say that David Milch’s dialogue is the best I’ve heard on tv, and that Ian McShane’s Al Swearengen one of the best characters.

        Your thoughts on Golovkin-Brook and the impending autumn boxing schedule? Roman Gonzalez vs. Cuadras is well worth catching too this weekend.

      • Golovkin with the KO in round 5. Gonzalez vs. Cuadras should be more interesting but probably a El Chocolatito win.

  2. Happy to hear you are in Deadwood, a cinematic land I never wanted to ride out of.

    Year two was far from Milch’s planned endpoint, but the beginning of his terrible luck started there, and when his benefactor was canned at HBO, so was the series. Worth seeing also is his follow-up, John From Cincinnati, even shorter lived, a weird, tarnished allegory involving surfing and saviors. I like to think of Deadwood, perversely, as its prequel: the corrupt old west laying the foundation for the immiserated post-affluent California to come of beachside dreamers, schemers and mentally-damaged redeemers. All it’s missing is the gloriously baroque dialogue and, of course, Swearengen.

    When you’ve finished Deadwood, you’ll enjoy this New Yorker profile of Milch which shadowed him in writer’s meetings: http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2005/02/14/the-misfit-2

    There is speculation about a revival, particularly now he is broke: http://screencrush.com/deadwood-movie-david-milch-scripts/

    And as an artist, you will likely find these talks fascinating; I did: http://www.cinephiliabeyond.org/lectures-taught-anything-ive-yet-come-across-life/

    Cheers for tip on the Melville/Belmondo, two I like and can always stand more of. I see it also has Emanuelle Riva, for whom I’ve carried a torch for about thirty years (since seeing her in Hiroshima Mon Amour, a film I can recite line for line). Too bad about Bigger Than Life; oh well, it’s sitting here and I might as well check it out. If nothing else, I reliably enjoy Mason’s work — Carol Reed’s Odd Man Out being firmly in my all-time P4P films.

    Treasure is a hell of a film! It first rattled me as a boy, and became a film to measure subsequent portrayals of greed against. Huston was a svengali and he uncorked something Bogart didn’t comfortably let out in many roles, even when often called upon to huff and puff. My favorite school of acting, btw, is the Hysterical Volcano, typified by him, Cagney, Brando, De Niro, etc. and reaching its apex with Kirk Douglas in The Bad and the Beautiful:

    Will catch Gonzales! Golovkin/Brook exerts a strange fascination, haha. Oh hell: a sadistic one.

    • I’ve never seen Hisroshima, despite enjoying what I’ve seen of Resnais. Must remedy that. Same goes for Odd Man Out, as a fan of The Third Man. Let me know your thoughts once you’ve watched Bigger Than Life. It’s quite possible that you’ll have a different view.

      Impressive stuff from Kirk Douglas in another old classic I’ve yet to see. I only know of the later Douglas from such films as The Fury & Paths of Glory.

      Haha while I expect nothing less than a blowout, I’m interested in the GGG-Brook fight for similar reasons: it is the epitome of a freakshow fight. Gonzalez-Cuadras could be a lot more competitive than most are expecting, but I’m rolling with Chocolatito, probably by decision.

      Thanks for that treasure trove of Deadwood links. I’ll explore them all once I’ve finished the series. The lectures look particularly fascinating. I read a Variety piece from earlier this year on Milch’s gambling addicition and financial woes: a great shame and it would be wonderful to see Deadwood resurrected in some form. John from Cincinatti looks interesting too and I may watch that afterwards.

Leave a Reply

